Current Payday Lenders in California – Terms, Rates, Legislation
If you live in California, taking out a payday loan is one of the easiest ways to get fast cash for short-term money needs. The payday loan industry is subject to state regulations. Below is how payday loan laws work in CA.
The list of payday lenders in California
Check Into Cash
Check Into Cash issues payday loans only to people who are at least 21 — but they’re quick and easy to get. All you need is a stable source of income, a valid checking account at least 3 months old and to be a US citizen or permanent resident. We recommend applying in-store with Check Into Cash since they offer a bigger selection of available loan amounts.
- Amounts: $100 – $200 online or $42.50 – $225 when applying in store
- Cost: $15 per $85 in store, $17.65 per $100 online
- How long you have to repay: up to 30 days
OppLoans offers installment loans to California residents who are looking for a longer loan term and higher amount. You can have the money in your bank account within 24 hours, but there is a minimum loan amount requirement – you must earn at least $3,600 per month, get your income through direct deposit, be at least 18 years old, and provide proof of identity (Social Security number).
- Amounts: $500 – $4,000
- Cost: 59% – 160% APR, including a $75 administrative fee
- How long you have to repay: up to18 months
Speedy Cash is a California lender offering multiple loan options. It is known as a short-term loan company with over 150 locations in 29 states. The company specializes in title loans, cash advances, payday loans, and installment loans. Just as its name suggests, most borrowers can get their funds as soon as the same day or the following business day.
- Amounts: $50 – $500
- Cost: $10 to $30 for every $100 borrowed
- How long you have to repay: Varies
LendYou is a loan matching service that works with third party, direct lenders that can offer you a cash advance. If you need a few hundred dollars to help with a car payment, important purchase or any emergency expense, LendYou might be able to help you find the right lender to work with.
- Amounts: $100 – $2,500
- Cost: APR up to 1,386%
- How long you have to repay: Varies
Cashback Loans is a popular direct lender from California. The company was founded in 2003. It offers three short-term loan options to California residents. You can select a loan that suits your unique needs. The company does its best to provide a straightforward and effortless loan service. Currently, the lender has 29 locations across the state.
- Amounts: up to $300
- Cost: $15 for every $100 borrowed
- How long you have to repay: within 2 weeks
Check City is a direct lender founded in 1986 and based in Provo, UT. They offer payday loans in 19 states across the country. Besides, Check City offers short-term loans, installment loans, personal loans, and title loans, as well as prepaid cards, Western Union, and even gold buying. The company offers speedy access to multiple financial services both in physical locations and online.
- Amounts: $100 – $2,500
- Cost: APR 182.5% to 912.5%
- How long you have to repay: up to 62 days
LendUp is another payday lender that offers online payday loans in California. Moreover, the lender allows you to boost your credit by reporting repayments to the three major credit bureaus. These agencies include Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion. It also offers useful educational resources to help consumers make smart financial decisions. To qualify for a loan, you are required to be at least 18 years old; have an active checking account; and provide a Social Security number.
- Amounts: $100 – $250
- Cost: $17.60 per $100 borrowed
- How long you have to repay: up to 30 days
CashNetUSA is a lender offering short-term payday advance loans to US citizens or permanent residents who are at least 18, have a stable income and a valid checking account. You can apply instantly online and get approved within minutes. You can also potentially get a generous discount, using a promo code. CashNetUSA also offers installment loans that you can repay with fixed monthly or biweekly repayments over a preagreed period.
- Amounts: $100 – $255
- Cost: $17.65 per $100
- How long you have to repay: up to 31 days
ACE Cash Express
ACE Cash Express is another great choice for people who need an instant loan. The company has over 950 store locations across the USA. In California, you can apply online and get your money as soon as the same day. The lender has a high rating on Trustpilot, which is a good sign. Besides, it offers a number of other financial services.
- Amounts: $100 – $5,000
- Cost: Varies by state
- How long you have to repay: Varies by state
NetCredit is a great choice for people with bad credit who need a larger loan than typical short-term lenders offer. You can borrow up to $10,500 for up to five years. NetCredit rates are quite high compared to traditional personal loan providers, but they are still lower than those offered by many short-term loan providers in California.
- Amounts: $1,000 – $10,500
- Cost: 34% to 155%
- How long you have to repay: 6 months to 5 years
MoneyLion is a banking app that allows CA residents to borrow fast cash and pay it back on their next payday. Their personal loans and easy-to-use tools help you manage your spending, savings, and credit. You can apply for credit-builder loans without a credit check and at low interest rates, but you have to pay a membership fee, which adds to the overall cost of the loan. It is an app for all your financial needs. To borrow money, you will need to download the MoneyLion app.
- Amounts: $25 – $250
- Cost: $0.49 to $5.99
- How long you have to repay: 2-3 weeks
Are payday loans legal in California?
Yes, payday lending is legal in California (both online and in-store). The state requires all payday lenders to have an appropriate state license and follow CA laws.
Typically, you can get a payday loan of up to $300. But you also have other short-term loan options including installment loans that are repaid over time with a set number of scheduled payments.
Here are the basic facts about payday loans in California:
|Maximum loan amount||$300 in principal and fees|
|Maximum Interest Rate (APR)||460% APR on a 14-day, $100 loan|
|Minimum loan term||N/A|
|Maximum loan term||31 days|
|Number of rollovers allowed||None|
|Number of outstanding loans allowed||One|
|Finance charges||15% of the face amount of loan check|
|Collection charges||$15 non-sufficient funds (NSF) fee|
All the regulations concerning payday loans are written in the following two documents – California Financial Code 23000 and California Civil Code 1789.30. California Financial Code 22000 regulates installment loans and other personal loans in the state.
Compared to the laws in many other states, the California payday loan regulations are easy to understand. There are transparent limitations on allowable principal amounts and finance charges, which determine the total loan cost.
Regretfully, payday lenders in the state can legally charge very high interest rates on these loans.
Maximum loan amount in California
You can’t take a payday loan over $300 when combined with its finance charge.
As a result, most providers only offer loans up to $255.
Maximum term for a payday loan in California
You have to repay your payday loan within 31 days in California.
If you have difficulty repaying your loan, you can request an extended repayment plan, but lenders may decline your request.
Am I eligible for a payday loan in California, CA?
In order to qualify for a payday loan in California, you have to meet a few simple requirements:
- You must be a US citizen or permanent resident
- You must be over the age of 18
- You must reside in California
- You should have a stable income, making a minimum of $500 (part-time) or $800 per month
- You should have a valid mobile phone account
- You should have an open and active checking account (for the funds to be deposited into)
- You must provide a SSN (social security number)
What fees can I expect with a payday loan in California?
The maximum fee a payday lender can charge is restricted as to how much they can charge you per payday loan. If a company attempts to charge more than restricted, this might be a fraudulent lender. If this happens, look for another lender that complies with state laws and regulations.
- Financing charges: 15% of the principle of a loan, not exceeding $45.
- Refinancing fees: You are not allowed to refinance or rollover your loan.
- Non-sufficient funds (NSF) fees: If your payment is declined because of insufficient funds, a company can charge a $15 NSF fee.
- Early repayment fees: There is no fee to pay back your loan before the due date.
How can I tell if a lender in California is legit?
California law also defines how payday lenders must behave in certain situations. Below are the important signs that help you determine you’re dealing with a legit lender.
- The lender is registered with the California Department of Business Oversight (DBO). You can check this information by visiting the DBO website or calling (866) 275-2677. If you’re applying via a loan matching service, make sure the company you’re connected to is registered to issue loans in California.
- The lender complies with rate and fee regulations. Avoid lenders who charge more than is allowed by the state.
- The lender doesn’t allow rollovers. The state law forbids payday lenders to give out loans to repay an existing payday loan.
- The contract is concluded in the language you use to speak with the company. This means that if you and your loan provider speak English, your contract must be in English. If you communicate Spanish, the contract must also be in Spanish.
- The lender discloses a fee schedule and displays the license at all brick-and-mortar location locations.
- The lender prohibits multiple loans. Legit lenders only allow borrowers to get another payday loan after they’ve completely repaid their current one.
What is the statute of limitations on a payday loan in CA?
The statute of limitations on a California payday loan is four years. This means that if you default on your loan, the lender has 4 years to sue you for the balance.
What lenders must tell borrowers
- The total loan cost, including fees, annual percentage rate.
- Information about application fees, late charges, prepayment penalties.
- The person’s exact payment terms and conditions.
- Lenders must provide a borrower with an agreement that discloses all loan details.
What lenders cannot do
- Require collateral.
- Oblige borrowers to purchase another service or product (for example, insurance) as a condition of getting approved for a loan.
- Issue a loan to a person who already has an outstanding payday loan.
- Take blank checks.
- Commit any illegal act or mislead borrowers.
The California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation (DFPI) protects California consumers and oversees the activity of state-licensed financial institutions, including payday loan lenders. DFPI aims at protecting consumers from potentially predatory lenders.
- Regulator: Department of Financial Protection and Innovation
- Address: Office of the Ombuds, 2101 Arena Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95834, United States
- Phone: +1 (866) 275-2677 or +1 (916) 327-7585
- Email: Ask.DFPI@dfpi.ca.gov
- Link to website: https://dfpi.ca.gov/